Idol Chatter

Ryan Murphy accepts the award for Outstanding Limited Series for "The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story" at the 68th Primetime Emmy Awards in Los Angeles, California, U.S., September 18, 2016. REUTERS/Mike Blake

The 68th Emmy Awards held Sunday, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, was a night to be remembered with Game of Thrones and The People v. O.J. Simpson running away with the night.

The FX mini-series, The People v. O.J. Simpson, scored wins for outstanding limited series and for some of it’s actors. One of them, Sara Paulson, won for outstanding lead actress in a limited series, and spoke about the challenge of playing the role of prosecutor during her acceptance speech.

Game of Thrones broke the record for the highest number of Emmy Awards won by a fictional series. The HBO fantasy drama triumphed in three categories including outstanding drama series. This left the show with a total of 38 awards; surpassing Frasier‘s previous record of 37.

John Oliver won best variety talk series for his HBO series Last Week Tonight, beating fellow British nominee James Corden, who was nominated for The Late Late Show.

Veep won the outstanding comedy series award for the second year in a row, while its star Julia Louis-Dreyfus won outstanding lead comedy actress for the fifth time.

Elsewhere, The Voice took home the award for outstanding reality competition series, beating Project Runway and Dancing With The Stars.

Netflix series Master of None scored its first Emmy award, winning outstanding writing for a comedy series.

Here is the full list of winners:

Outstanding Drama Series — “Game of Thrones”

Outstanding Comedy Series — “Veep”

Outstanding Lead Actress, Drama Series — Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black”

Outstanding Lead Actor, Drama Series — Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Drama Series — Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey”

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Drama Series — Ben Mendelsohn, “Bloodline”

Outstanding Directing, Drama Series — Miguel Sapochnik, “Game of Thrones”

Outstanding Writing, Drama Series — David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, “Game of Thrones”

Outstanding Lead Actress, Comedy Series — Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”

Outstanding Lead Actor, Comedy Series — Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Comedy Series — Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Comedy Series — Louie Anderson, “Baskets”

Outstanding Writing, Comedy Series — Aziz Ansari and Alan Yang, “Master of None”

Outstanding Directing, Comedy Series — Jill Soloway, “Transparent”

Outstanding Limited Series — “The People v. O.J. Simpson”

Outstanding Television Movie — “Sherlock: The Abominable Bride”

Outstanding Lead Actress, Limited Series or Movie — Sarah Paulson, “The People v. O.J. Simpson”

Outstanding Lead Actor, Limited Series or Movie — Courtney B. Vance, “The People v. O.J. Simpson”

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Limited Series or Movie — Regina King, “American Crime”

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie — Sterling K. Brown, “The People v. O.J. Simpson”

Outstanding Directing, Limited Series or Movie — Susanne Bier, “The Night Manager”

Outstanding Writing, Limited Series or Movie — D.V. DeVincentis, “The People v. O.J. Simpson”

Outstanding Reality Competition Program — “The Voice”

Outstanding Writing, Variety Special — Patton Oswalt, “Talking for Clapping”

Outstanding Variety Sketch Series — “Key and Peele”

Outstanding Variety Talk Series — “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Outstanding Directing, Variety Special — “Grease Live”

Join the Discussion
comments powered by Disqus