On tonight’s episode of “The X Factor” we found out which 16 acts move on to the live rounds. I made some predictions, and I was right about 75% of the time.

We’ll start with the boys, who were in the Hamptons with L.A. Reid. I predicted that Phillip Lomax, Chris Rene, Marcus Canty and T im Cifers would go through. In the end, instead of Tim LA put Brian Bradley, now known as “Astro”, through to the live rounds. I would have loved to see Tim move on; I like Brian but I think Tim would have been a better choice.

For the groups, Paula put through The Brewer Boys, The Stereo Hogzz, Intensity (see video above), and Lakoda Rayne. I had The Anser instead of Lakoda Rayne; I can’t put my finger on it, but I find them really unlikeable. I am thrilled, however, that Intensity is going through. I think they’re going to be loads of fun – not to mention that one of the kids is from Rochester, NY, my hometown. What’s interesting is that of the four groups moving through, two were put together by the judges from contestants who came into the competition as solo artists.

In the over 30s group, Nicole and I both picked Stacy Francis and Josh Krajcik; those were no brainers. (I think Stacy may have pulled off the best judges’ house performance.) She picked Leroy Bell over Tiger Budbill and that was definitely the right choice.

But she put through Dexter Haygood instead of James Kenney. I’m on the fence about that one. I think James has a lot more talent, but Nicole had a concern that he may not be a solo act. Dexter is definitely entertaining but he’s inconsistent.

And then there are the girls. Simon showed a lot of heart, and I’m so glad that we get to see the judges mentoring their groups. He had a difficult job, because there were definitely  more than four girls who could have gone through. My picks were Drew, Tora, Jazzlyn and Melanie, but I predicted that Simon would put through Simone and Tiah with Drew and Melanie.

In the end, he put through Drew, Simone, Tiah and Rachel – and then after conferring with the other judges realized that he’d made a mistake. So he flew to Sunrise, Florida and offered Melanie the opportunity to come back for the live shows. She agreed, of course, and Simon said “I never would have forgiven myself if I’d hadn’t done this.”

So next Tuesday, the 17 acts perform live. They are:

  1. Simone Battle
  2. Drew Ryniewicz
  3. Tiah Tolliver
  4. Rachel Crow
  5. Melanie Amaro
  6. Intensity
  7. The Brewer Boys
  8. Lakoda Rayne
  9. The Stereo Hogzz
  10. Phillip Lomax
  11. Brian “Astro” Bradley
  12. Chris Rene
  13. Marcus Canty
  14. Leroy Bell
  15. Josh Krajcik
  16. Dexter Haygood
  17. Stacy Francis

I think this roster is almost perfect, and it’s going to be great to watch the judges continue to mentor their groups and see how America votes.

Tune in next Tuesday at 8 PM for the live performances!

More from Beliefnet and our partners