Advertisement

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter Archives

C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien’s Book Wars and Friendship Subject of Film

posted by Corine Gatti

UK-based Attraction Films will produce a drama on the odd and turbulent relationship between authors C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien set in Britain during  and after World War I. Lewis wrote The Chronicles of Narnia, and Tolkien penned The Hobbit […]

Advertisement

Eliminating Poverty Concerns Our Expectations

posted by

Award-winning scientist Dr. Scott Todd challenges the Christian community to help end extreme poverty in his new book, Hope Rising. Broken into five parts, Dr. Todd explains the reasoning behind poverty’s grip on the global community and provides faith-based answers […]

Advertisement

Oprah Interviews Dr. Eben Alexander on His Near-Death Experience

posted by Corine Gatti

Dr. Eben Alexander is a medical marvel. The academic neurosurgeon of 25 years was bolted into a coma after an attack of E. coli meningitis in 2008, part of his brain shut down, and his doctors lost hope of his […]

Advertisement

‘Michael Vey’ Shows NY Times Bestseller List that Good Values Are #1

posted by Jennifer E. Jones

Do you know Michael Vey? You should. He’s the everyday teenager with an extraordinary secret in the powerful new series by bestselling author Richard Paul Evans. In this page-turning novel, a 14-year-old boy with super powers tries to live an […]

Cheryl Klein has “Second Sight”

posted by Donna Freitas

Okay, no she doesn’t–not really. But while Cheryl Klein–Senior Editor at Arthur A. Levine Books at Scholastic–may not be a clairvoyant or have the power to see into the future, she does have other powers that might be relevant to […]

Lauren Winner on Rob Bell

posted by Donna Freitas

The essay at the back of The New York Times Sunday Book Review belongs to Lauren Winner this week, and she gives her take on the book (and author) that everybody and their mother is giving their take on these […]

Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among […]

The Deep End of the Ocean: The Very First Oprah Pick

posted by Donna Freitas

I was in the bookstore the other day, hoping to find a page-turner, something that would compel me from start to finish like Emma Donoghue’s magnificent “Room” did this fall. For some reason it popped into my head that I’d […]

Do we really need another Twilight book?

posted by Donna Freitas

Next week, a new book in the Twilight Saga will be published. And no, don’t get overly excited. It’s not as though Stephenie Meyer has written another installment or finally finished (and published) Midnight Sun or even turned out another […]

The 30 Minute Seder?

posted by Donna Freitas

Passover is coming up, and this year as you ponder celebrating the Seder meal, perhaps you should consider making it a quick one and use the “30 Minute-Seder: The Haggadah that Blends Brevity with Tradition.” I was flipping through the […]

Mackenzie Phillips’ Revelations: Reality Check, Paycheck or Both?

posted by Ellen Leventry

This afternoon, actress Mackenzie Phillips (One Day at a Time) is set to take to Oprah‘s couch to reveal all about the ten year, drug-fueled incestuous relationship she had with her father, John Phillips of The Mamas and The Papas. […]

Previous Posts

Rio Olympics: Flame Handed to Brazil in Athens
Rio de Janeiro will host the Summer Olympics from August 5-21, but preparations for the event are already underway. The Olympic flame that will burn at the Summer Olympics was handed over to Brazil last Wednesday. The ceremony was held in ...

posted 1:48:32pm Apr. 28, 2016 | read full post »

Celebrating the 46th Year of Earth Day
The movement continues. This year is the 46th year of Earth Day, a day that inspires, ignites passion, and motivates people to action. In 1970, the first Earth Day was celebrated with a mission to channel human energy toward environmental ...

posted 9:51:26am Apr. 22, 2016 | read full post »

Eclectic Pop Music Superstar Prince Has Passed
We mourn the loss of another musical great this year. Multiple sources have confirmed that the artist known as Prince has passed. He was 57. His publicist, Yvette Noel-Schure, told the Associated Press the music icon was found dead at his ...

posted 1:52:31pm Apr. 21, 2016 | read full post »

Former WWE Star Chyna Found Dead
Former pro wrestler Joan Laurer, known as Chyna in the WWE community, has died at the age of 45. The cause of her death remains unknown to the public. Chyna was a huge pioneer for female wrestlers in the WWE. Fans and friends of Chyna took to ...

posted 10:35:25am Apr. 21, 2016 | read full post »

Former Syracuse Great Dwayne ‘Pearl’ Washington Dies at 52
Former Syracuse great Dwayne ‘Pearl’ Washington passed away at 52. Washington was diagnosed with a brain tumor last summer and received surgery in the fall. Washington grew up in Brooklyn, New York where he first received his nickname ...

posted 1:34:35pm Apr. 20, 2016 | read full post »

Advertisement


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.