Advertisement

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter Archives

C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien’s Book Wars and Friendship Subject of Film

posted by Corine Gatti

UK-based Attraction Films will produce a drama on the odd and turbulent relationship between authors C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien set in Britain during  and after World War I. Lewis wrote The Chronicles of Narnia, and Tolkien penned The Hobbit […]

Advertisement

Eliminating Poverty Concerns Our Expectations

posted by

Award-winning scientist Dr. Scott Todd challenges the Christian community to help end extreme poverty in his new book, Hope Rising. Broken into five parts, Dr. Todd explains the reasoning behind poverty’s grip on the global community and provides faith-based answers […]

Advertisement

Oprah Interviews Dr. Eben Alexander on His Near-Death Experience

posted by Corine Gatti

Dr. Eben Alexander is a medical marvel. The academic neurosurgeon of 25 years was bolted into a coma after an attack of E. coli meningitis in 2008, part of his brain shut down, and his doctors lost hope of his […]

Advertisement

‘Michael Vey’ Shows NY Times Bestseller List that Good Values Are #1

posted by Jennifer E. Jones

Do you know Michael Vey? You should. He’s the everyday teenager with an extraordinary secret in the powerful new series by bestselling author Richard Paul Evans. In this page-turning novel, a 14-year-old boy with super powers tries to live an […]

Cheryl Klein has “Second Sight”

posted by Donna Freitas

Okay, no she doesn’t–not really. But while Cheryl Klein–Senior Editor at Arthur A. Levine Books at Scholastic–may not be a clairvoyant or have the power to see into the future, she does have other powers that might be relevant to […]

Lauren Winner on Rob Bell

posted by Donna Freitas

The essay at the back of The New York Times Sunday Book Review belongs to Lauren Winner this week, and she gives her take on the book (and author) that everybody and their mother is giving their take on these […]

Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among […]

The Deep End of the Ocean: The Very First Oprah Pick

posted by Donna Freitas

I was in the bookstore the other day, hoping to find a page-turner, something that would compel me from start to finish like Emma Donoghue’s magnificent “Room” did this fall. For some reason it popped into my head that I’d […]

Do we really need another Twilight book?

posted by Donna Freitas

Next week, a new book in the Twilight Saga will be published. And no, don’t get overly excited. It’s not as though Stephenie Meyer has written another installment or finally finished (and published) Midnight Sun or even turned out another […]

The 30 Minute Seder?

posted by Donna Freitas

Passover is coming up, and this year as you ponder celebrating the Seder meal, perhaps you should consider making it a quick one and use the “30 Minute-Seder: The Haggadah that Blends Brevity with Tradition.” I was flipping through the […]

Mackenzie Phillips’ Revelations: Reality Check, Paycheck or Both?

posted by Ellen Leventry

This afternoon, actress Mackenzie Phillips (One Day at a Time) is set to take to Oprah‘s couch to reveal all about the ten year, drug-fueled incestuous relationship she had with her father, John Phillips of The Mamas and The Papas. […]

Previous Posts

Letterman Bids Farewell Tonight
It's David Lettman's last episode interviewing, so what do you do? Well have his first guest, ever, Bill Murray pop out of a cake - of course! [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YW8MY9CD-tQ[/youtube] Murray appeared on the first late ...

posted 9:03:34am May. 20, 2015 | read full post »

Finding Neverland - On a Stage!
Calling all fans of Lost Boys!             You loved Finding Neverland with Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet, right? The film about J.M. Barrie in 2004 is back - in the form of a Broadway ...

posted 12:53:47pm May. 19, 2015 | read full post »

Blues Guitarist B.B. King Dead at 89
Legendary blues guitarist B.B. King died Thursday night at the age of 89 in a Las Vegas hospital. King was the son of a sharecropper, and was born on a plantation in Mississippi. He worked his way up from singing in church, performing on street ...

posted 9:27:21am May. 15, 2015 | read full post »

'Where Hope Grows' is a Much Watch
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-L10tIzZZrA Kristoffer Polaha stars as a baseball slugger with Detroit Tigers who was forced to retire early due to panic attacks at the plate. Calvin Campbell struggles with alcoholism, depression, and battles ...

posted 8:58:33am May. 15, 2015 | read full post »

One Good Fella
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKjent3fFcs Jersey Girl, the Body Guard, and Goodfellas--Mike Starr always plays a wise guy. The graduate of Hofstra University’s latest role is the comedy Dancer and the Dame, a film about a police officer ...

posted 12:13:10pm May. 14, 2015 | read full post »

Advertisement


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.