Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter Archives

Cheryl Klein has “Second Sight”

posted by Donna Freitas

Okay, no she doesn’t–not really. But while Cheryl Klein–Senior Editor at Arthur A. Levine Books at Scholastic–may not be a clairvoyant or have the power to see into the future, she does have other powers that might be relevant to […]

Lauren Winner on Rob Bell

posted by Donna Freitas

The essay at the back of The New York Times Sunday Book Review belongs to Lauren Winner this week, and she gives her take on the book (and author) that everybody and their mother is giving their take on these […]

Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among […]

The Deep End of the Ocean: The Very First Oprah Pick

posted by Donna Freitas

I was in the bookstore the other day, hoping to find a page-turner, something that would compel me from start to finish like Emma Donoghue’s magnificent “Room” did this fall. For some reason it popped into my head that I’d […]

Previous Posts

Horror Flick Details Biblical End Times
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3pyDaNoY6s[/youtube] Faith based films have become a buzzword in Hollywood lately said writer and director Casey La Scala of “Donnie Darko,” and “A Walk to Remember.” La Scala new film is a horror flick based on biblical accounts of end times c

posted 4:26:27pm Aug. 27, 2014 | read full post »

Identity Series: Embrace Your Place
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dyst6VUv2iY [/youtube] Director of Equip and Empower Ministries, Christine Caine, pushes believers to embrace the place that God designed especially for them in this episode of the IDENTITY series sponsored by the upcoming film THE IDENTICAL. "There's a div

posted 9:42:59am Aug. 26, 2014 | read full post »

Rocking New Exclusive Clip from "The Identical"
Ray Liotta and Ashley Judd star in The Identical as the adoptive parents of a young man who dreams of a singing career -- not a life as a pastor like his father. What young Ryan Wade doesn't know, though, is that he has a twin brother who is the biggest rock-and-roll star in the world -- a fact his

posted 3:54:42pm Aug. 25, 2014 | read full post »

Political Documentary ‘The Green Prince’ Thrills, Offers Hope
Political thriller, "The Green Prince" tells the story Mosab Hassan Yousef, son of a key Hamas leader, who betrays his father and country to work for Israeli security forces. The narrative is framed around his life as a double agent, and loosely based off his memoir, “Son of Hamas: A Gripping A

posted 1:14:44pm Aug. 22, 2014 | read full post »

'Waking in Oak Creek' Documentary Tells Story of Healing in Aftermath of Tragedy
[bcvideo vid='3743815470001' pid='96582452001' height='410' width='480'] The powerful new documentary Waking In Oak Creek profiles a suburban town shaken after six worshippers at a Sikh Temple are killed by a white supremacist in a hate crime shooting. In the year following the attack, a community

posted 12:33:34pm Aug. 22, 2014 | read full post »


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.