History: The American Unitarian Association (organized in 1825) and the Universalist Church of America (organized in 1793) merged in 1961 to form the the Unitarian Universalist Association. The UUA's congregations are self-governing, but have much in common. Unitarian-Universalists believe in the oneness of God and that Jesus was a divine messenger, rather than a deity himself.

Main tenets: The UUA calls itself a "liberal," non-creedal religion that is rooted in Christian and Jewish traditions. It rejects the orthodox Christian doctrine of the trinity in favor of God's oneness.

Unitarian-Universalism is organized around seven principles:

  • The inherent dignity of every person;
  • justice, equity, and compassion in human relations;
  • acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth;
  • a free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  • the right of conscience and the use of the democratic process;
  • the goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  • respect for the interdependent web of all existence.
  • UUism emphasizes free thinking and racial and gender equality. In the Unitarian Universalist view, Jesus Christ's nature is love, and he is seen as the moral perfection of God. Unitarianism's name and theology come from the Boston minister William Ellery Channing's 1819 sermon, "Unitarian Christianity." The philosophy of Ralph Waldo Emerson and other New England Transcendentalists were largely an outgrowth of Unitarianism.

    Main sacred text: Unitarians are committed to the Bible as interpreted through reason.

    more from beliefnet and our partners
    Close Ad