This year’s HUMANITAS Prize nominations have been announced honoring TV and movie who create stories that are  “truly and deeply explore the human experience in a way that both entertains and enlightens.”

Nominees include:

Feature Film Category ($10,000)
127 HOURS Written By: Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy
THE FIGHTER Written By: Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson
THE KING’S SPEECH Written By: David Seidler

Sundance Feature Film Category ($10,000)
GUN HILL ROAD Written By: Rashaad Ernesto Green
MEEK’S CUTOFF Written By: Jonathan Raymond
WIN WIN Written By: Thomas McCarthy

Documentary Category ($5,000)
BEING ELMO: A PUPPETEER’S JOURNEY Written By: Philip Shane & Justin Weinstein
LOUDER THAN A BOMB Directed By: Greg Jacobs & Jon Siskel

90 Minute Category ($10,000)
REVIVING OPHELIA Written By: Teena Booth (Lifetime)
TAKEN FROM ME: THE TIFFANY RUBIN STORY Written By: Michael Bortman (Lifetime)
THURGOOD Written By: George Stevens, Jr. (HBO)

60 Minute Category ($10,000)
HOUSE “Help Me” Written By: Russel Friend, Garrett Lerner & Peter Blake (FOX)
THE PACIFIC “Part 10” Written By: Bruce McKenna & Robert Schenkkan (HBO)
DROP DEAD DIVA “Good Grief” Written By: Jeanette Collins & Mimi Friedman (Lifetime)
FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS “Always” Written By: Jason Katims (NBC)

30 Minute Category ($10,000)
HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER “Last Words” Written By: Carter Bays & Craig Thomas (CBS)
MODERN FAMILY “The Kiss” Written By: Abraham Higginbotham (ABC)
NURSE JACKIE “Monkey Bits” Written By: Liz Brixius (Showtime)
THE BIG C “Taking the Plunge” Written By: Darlene Hunt (Showtime)

Prizes will also be awarded to:

Children’s Animation ($10,000)
KUNG FU PANDA HOLIDAY SPECIAL Written By: Jonathan Groff & Jon Pollack (NBC)

The David & Lynn Angell Fellowship in Comedy Writing ($10,000)
ROBIN W. MORTON University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Film and Television Spec script of MODERN FAMILY “Life is Beautiful”

Fellowship in Dramatic Writing ($10,000)
AMY RIPLEY University of Southern California, School of Cinematic Arts Original script of INKLINGS “Pilot”


Past winners of the HUMANITAS Prize have included: Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious); Steve Levitan (Modern Family, Frasier); Ryan Murphy (Glee); Robert & Michelle King (The Good Wife); David E. Kelley (The Practice, Picket Fences); Ben Affleck and Matt Damon (Good Will Hunting); Steven Zaillian (Schindler’s List); David Shore (House); Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing); Tim Robbins (Dead Man Walking); Jason Katims (Friday Night Lights); Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon and Pete Docter (WALL-E); Aseem Batra (Scrubs); Nancy Oliver (Lars and the Real Girl); Eric Roth & Michael Mann (The Insider); Paul Haggis (Crash); Steven Bochco (Hill Street Blues, NYPD Blue) and Keir Pearson & Terry George (Hotel Rwanda).


Additionally, Gary David Goldberg (Family Ties) will be the recipient of the Kieser Award which is given to an individual “whose work has helped promote a greater appreciation for each member of the human family.” The Kieser Award is named after Fr. Ellwood “Bud” Kieser, the Catholic priest who founded the HUMANITAS Prize. Previous honorees have included Bill Moyers and Larry Gelbart (M*A*S*H).


The 37th annual event will be held on Friday, September 16th in Beverly Hills.


More from Beliefnet and our partners
previous posts

Here’s the latest dispatch from the crossroads of faith and media: A Christmas Carol. Christmas episodes used to be a staple of network sitcoms but seem much less common these days. Since Carol Second Act is pretty much an ode the art of the traditional sitcom, it’s nice to see the show which stars Patricia […]

Here’s the latest dispatch from the crossroads of faith and media: Riding Waves of praise. Set against the vibrant landscape of South Florida, Waves traces the epic emotional journey of a suburban African-American family confronted with a shocking event that threatens to tear the family apart. The movie which open wide this Thanksgiving weekend has […]

Here’s the latest dispatch from the crossroads of faith and media: Waves opens in select theaters tonight (Nov. 15) and wide over Thanksgiving weekend (Nov. 29). Rated R for adult themes, language and one violent incident. Synopsis (from the film’s website): Set against the vibrant landscape of South Florida, and featuring an astonishing ensemble of […]

Here’s the latest dispatch from the crossroads of faith and media: Harriet Tubman and film producer Debra Martin Chase are having a moment. The long-awaited film Harriet opened strong in 2,059 theaters nationwide last weekend, pulling in an impressive $12 million over three days and ranking fourth at the domestic box office. That’s significantly higher […]