Queen Kosher

kosherToday I spent the morning packing bags of food for area children at the local food pantry. One of the items I was supposed to include in each package was a jar of grape jelly. When I was receiving my orientation, the director pointed to a small cache of strawberry jellies next to the crates of grape jelly. “These are for one of our clients who keeps kosher. I don’t know why he can’t have grape jelly, but we put aside the strawberry for him.”
I explained to her that I also keep kosher, and gave her a short explanation of why products made from grapes have more stringent kashrut requirements. Immediately, I was appointed Queen Kosher at the food pantry, and asked to assemble a box of products that would be suitable for this family. I ascertained from the notes left by the father that this family was not only strictly kosher, but also observed a further stringency of cholov yisroel. Mysteriously, they also would not accept any tuna, even with an OU. (Can anyone explain that?)
I think it’s wonderful that our food pantry is willing to accommodate this family’s request for kosher food. But while I’m ashamed to admit it, I felt a little embarrassed explaining to non-Jews why this large family will not accept certain fairly mainstream foods for their children, whom they cannot afford to feed. (You see, non-Jews used to use wine made from grapes for idol worship, so no grape jelly, get it? And, um, even though the government says this is cow milk, it might be pig milk….)
Fortunately, unlike me, the workers at the pantry seemed to pass no judgement whatsoever on the family’s religious needs. We’ve set aside a box of hechshered foods, and I will return in a week or so to sift through new donations. In the meantime, I hope I can come to terms with my own apparent ambivalence about the dietary laws. We do keep a kosher home (although not to Orthodox standards) but I’ve never really tried to explain to why. And I’ve never stopped to think about what conditions might, or might not, lead me to compromise.
It’s food for thought…..but is it kosher?

Comments read comments(3)
post a comment
Bible Belt Balabusta

posted June 2, 2009 at 4:22 pm

Oh, the tangled Minhags we weave….
The tuna conundrum could be because the specific brand does not employ a mashgiach to personally oversee the catch and prep of tuna, and therefore avoid the accidental inclusion of any other type of fish; or because the tuna might have been steamed before canning (steamed = cooked by a nonJew).
Food for thought, indeed.

report abuse


posted June 3, 2009 at 7:00 am

Who are you who are so wise in the ways of science?

report abuse


posted June 3, 2009 at 10:12 pm

i think it’s so hard to “represent” all the Jews of the world, isn’t it? at least they were respectful of this family’s wishes…

report abuse

Post a Comment

By submitting these comments, I agree to the terms of service, rules of conduct and privacy policy (the "agreements"). I understand and agree that any content I post is licensed to and may be used by in accordance with the agreements.

Previous Posts

Teaching the Four Questions to young children
One of the greatest privileges of being a kindergarten teacher in a Jewish day school is having the opportunity to teach children to recite the four questions. Unlike almost anything else I teach them about Jewish ritual, this is "real work." ...

posted 7:36:03am Apr. 01, 2012 | read full post »

Guess what's Kosher for Passover (this will change your life.)
I'm not exaggerating. The bane of my Passover existence has been pareve baking. I cook a lot more meat during the holiday than I do the rest of the year, which means a lot more pareve desserts. Which has, up until now, usually meant margarine ...

posted 5:02:27pm Mar. 22, 2012 | read full post »

Why I love the New American Haggadah (and it's not just because I got to have a martini with Nathan Englander.)
I'm not a haggadah junkie. I know many Jews whose shelves are overflowing with numerous versions of the Haggadah - from the traditional Maxwell House to the not-so-traditional Santa Cruz - and whose seders are an amalgam of commentaries, poems, ...

posted 9:25:37pm Mar. 14, 2012 | read full post »

Best Hamentashen Ever, even better. And, a Purim opera.
This time of year, I'm always excited when I look at my google analytics and see that people have landed at my blog by searching for "hamentashen recipe". I love the idea of people all over the world making my great-grandmother's fabulous ...

posted 7:13:38pm Mar. 05, 2012 | read full post »

Edible Purim baskets. And, introducing...the cookie fairies!
My very favorite Jewish holiday tradition, bar non, is the mitzvah of mishloach manot - preparing and delivering gifts of homemade goodies to friends and neighbors on Purim day. This is a mitzvah which embodies so much of why Judaism is ...

posted 8:16:28am Feb. 26, 2012 | read full post »


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.