How to Celebrate Kwanzaa

Kwanzaa Principles and Symbols

Celebrate Kwanzaa Indian corn

Beside seven days, Kwanzaa has seven principles and seven symbols. Each of the seven principles are celebrated for one day.

The principles are:

1. Unity
2. Self-Determination
3. Collective Work and Responsibility
4. Cooperative Economics
5. Purpose
6. Creativity
7. Faith

The seven symbols are:

1. Fruits for our good works
2. A mat for the foundation of traditions we stand on
3. Seven candles: three red, three green, and one black, each representing a Kwanzaa principle
4. A candle holder that represents Africa
5. A single cup to drink from for unity
6. Ears of corn for each child in the family
7. Gifts to reward others

comments powered by Disqus