Beliefnet News

As daily temperatures climbed toward 120, the U.S. Agriculture Department issued a disaster declaration Wednesday for most of Oklahoma.

Across the Sooner State, farmers are reeling from wildfires and the ongoing drought, according to the Daily Oklahoman. The declaration covers 74 of the state’s 77 counties. Nowata, Craig and Ottawa counties north of Tulsa in northeastern Oklahoma are not covered.

The newspaper reports:

It is in response to a request by Governor Mary Fallin, who asked the federal agency to issue a disaster declaration in order to help farmers who are adversely affected by drought and wildfires.

The governor had asked that all 77 counties be covered in a disaster declaration. The Agriculture Department replied that it was “unable to make a complete and accurate determination of production losses” for counties not included under the declaration, according to the governor’s office. It said “a decision … will be deferred until the loss information becomes available” regarding the three counties not included.

CLICK HERE to read more

Join the Discussion
comments powered by Disqus