People who have celiac disease follow a gluten-free diet to keep symptoms under control. Gluten is a protein commonly found in grains, such as wheat, rye, and barley, as well as in many food additives. Gluten can damage the small intestine in people with celiac disease, preventing the body from absorbing all of the nutrients from food.Following a gluten-free diet can be difficult to adjust to, especially if you have been recently diagnosed with celiac disease. The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) developed ChooseMyPlate, which provides guidelines for healthy eating and focuses on five food groups. While MyPlate is intended for the general population, below are some suggestions for eating gluten-free while following the USDA’s food guidelines.
GrainsOut of all of the food groups, the grain group poses the most problems for people with celiac disease. This is because many of these products contain gluten. But there are gluten-free choices, including:
- Bean flour
- Corn flour and corn meal
- Potato flour
- Rice flour and rice
- Soy flour
- Oats—These are naturally gluten-free, but are often processed with wheat products. Some companies sell uncontaminated oats.
How Much Per Day?About 6-8 ounces depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity
MyPlate ReminderStrive to make at least half of the grains that you eat whole grains such as amaranth, millet, quinoa, and oats.