Steven Waldman

Steven Waldman

Inaugural Prayer Service — Did YOU Make the Cut?

This just in from the inaugural committee: The full lineup of clergy at Wednesday prayer service at the National Cathedral (which will stream it live, by the way.)
Nineteen participants. They surely have covered all the bases now!
Actually, the funny thing is that the longer the list becomes, the more embarrassing it is when you don’t make the list. Who was left out? By my figuring…
–A Mormon
–A Buddhist
–Jehovah’s Witness (more of them than there are Hindus or Muslims)
–A Pentecostal? (Can’t quite tell if some of these folks might be…)
However, I’m told that Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons don’t tend to participate in communal prayers. So, now I’m feeling really bad for the Buddhists.
Full list below the jump.


Apologies if you’ve already received, but I wanted to make sure you had seen the below.

Friday, January 16, 2009
Presidential Inaugural Committee Announces Participants of National Prayer Service
Leaders Spanning American’s Faiths to Participate in Interfaith Event
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, as part of an Inauguration for all Americans, the 2009 Presidential Inaugural Committee announced the spiritual leaders from the diverse array of our nation’s religious traditions who will participate in the National Prayer Service on Wednesday, January 21st. The National Prayer Service, a tradition dating back to the Inauguration of George Washington, will be held at the National Cathedral at the conclusion of the inaugural activities. The service will include scripture readings, prayers, hymns and blessings delivered by faith leaders from across the United States.
“President-elect Obama’s faith is a central part of his life and he will begin the first full day of his Administration with a service of interfaith prayer and reflection,” said Presidential Inaugural Committee Communications Director Josh Earnest. “The National Prayer Service, which will embody the themes of tolerance, unity and understanding, is a worship service for all Americans. ”
The National Prayer Service will include a traditional prayer for civil leaders, a prayer for the nation, a selection by the Washington, D.C.-based Children of the Gospel Children’s Choir, and, for the first time, feature a sermon delivered by a woman.
Reverend Samuel T. Lloyd III, Dean of the Washington National Cathedral, will welcome attendees to the event, followed by the invocation of Reverend John Bryon Chane, Episcopal Bishop of Washington.
Reverend Otis Moss Jr., Senior Pastor Emeritus, Olivet Institutional Baptist Church in Cleveland, Ohio will provide the opening prayer, followed by a prayer for civil leaders delivered by Reverend Andy Stanley, Senior Pastor, North Point Community Church, Alpharetta, Georgia.
Scripture readings will be provided by Dr. Cynthia Hale, Senior Pastor, Ray of Hope Christian Church, Atlanta, Georgia as well as Archbishop Demetrios, Primate of the Greek Orthodox Church in America, New York City, and the Most Reverend Francisco Gonzalez, S.F., Auxiliary Bishop of Washington. Rabbi David Saperstein, Executive Director, Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism, Washington, D.C., has been asked to deliver a psalm.
Responsive prayers given by six leaders will symbolize America’s traditions of religious tolerance and freedom:
–Dr. Ingrid Mattson, President, Islamic Society of North America, Hartford, CT
–Rev. Suzan Johnson-Cook, Senior Pastor, Bronx Christian Fellowship, New York City
–Rabbi Jerome Epstein, Director, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism, New York City
–Rev. Carol Wade of the Washington National Cathedral
–Dr. Uma Mysorekar, President, Hindu Temple Society of North America, New York City
–Rev. Jim Wallis, President, Sojourners, Washington, D.C.
— Rabbi Haskal Lookstein, Congregation Kehilath Jeshurunm, New York City
–Pastor Kirbyjon Caldwell, Senior Pastor, Windsor Village United Methodist Church, Houston, TX
The service will conclude with a prayer for the nation delivered by Donald W. Wuerl, Archbishop of Washington, D.C., followed by a closing prayer provided by Bishop Katherine Jefferts-Schori, Presiding Bishop, Episcopal Church USA and a benediction by the Reverend Wesley Granberg-Michaelson, General Secretary of the Reformed Church in America.
The Presidential Inaugural Committee previously announced that Sharon E. Watkins, General Minister and President, Disciples of Christ (Christian Church) will deliver the sermon.

Comments read comments(2)
post a comment

posted January 17, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Wonder if any of the above are Unitarians??? or better yet…Pagans?
There is no way a JW would even consider being there…and Mormons? Maybe if asked.

report abuse

john bartholomew

posted January 19, 2009 at 12:12 pm

in jesus name!

report abuse

Post a Comment

By submitting these comments, I agree to the terms of service, rules of conduct and privacy policy (the "agreements"). I understand and agree that any content I post is licensed to and may be used by in accordance with the agreements.

Previous Posts

More Blogs To Enjoy!
Thank you for visiting this page. This blog is no longer being updated. Please enjoy the archives. Here are some other blogs you may also enjoy: Top Religious News Most Recent Inspiration Post Happy Reading! ...

posted 6:00:22pm Apr. 20, 2012 | read full post »

Good Bye
Today is my last day at Beliefnet (which I co-founded in 1999). The swirling emotions: sadness, relief, love, humility, pride, anxiety. But mostly deep, deep gratitude. How many people get to come up with an idea and have rich people invest ...

posted 8:37:24am Nov. 20, 2009 | read full post »

"Steven Waldman Named To Lead Commission Effort on Future of Media In a Changing Technological Landscape" (FCC Press Release)
STEVEN WALDMAN NAMED TO LEAD COMMISSION EFFORT ON FUTURE OF MEDIA IN A CHANGING TECHNOLOGICAL LANDSCAPE FCC chairman Julius Genachowski announced today the appointment of Steven Waldman, a highly respected internet entrepreneur and journalist, ...

posted 11:46:42am Oct. 29, 2009 | read full post »

My Big News
Dear Readers, This is the most difficult (and surreal) post I've had to write. I'm leaving Beliefnet, the company I co-founded in 1999. In mid November, I'll be stepping down as President and Editor in Chief to lead a project on the future of ...

posted 1:10:11pm Oct. 28, 2009 | read full post »

"Beliefnet Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief Steps Down to Lead FCC Future of the Media Initiative" (Beliefnet Press Release)
October 28, 2009 BELIEFNET CO-FOUNDER AND EDITOR-IN-CHIEF STEPS DOWN TO LEAD FCC FUTURE OF THE MEDIA INITIATIVE New York, NY - October 28, 2009 - Beliefnet, the leading online community for inspiration and faith, announced today that Steven ...

posted 1:05:43pm Oct. 28, 2009 | read full post »


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.