Beliefnet
Idol Chatter
Bio

The front page feature for this Sunday’s Metropolitan section of The New York Times is about how it is becoming more and more common to be both a New York City hipster and a Christian these days. That, in fact, […]

Okay, no she doesn’t–not really. But while Cheryl Klein–Senior Editor at Arthur A. Levine Books at Scholastic–may not be a clairvoyant or have the power to see into the future, she does have other powers that might be relevant to […]

The essay at the back of The New York Times Sunday Book Review belongs to Lauren Winner this week, and she gives her take on the book (and author) that everybody and their mother is giving their take on these […]

Okay, so if you haven’t already had enough of Rebecca Black’s tragically hilariously bad “Friday” song that has you chanting “Friday, Friday” every time someone mentions this particular day of the week (oh it is so horribly catchy you can’t […]

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among […]

I was in the bookstore the other day, hoping to find a page-turner, something that would compel me from start to finish like Emma Donoghue’s magnificent “Room” did this fall. For some reason it popped into my head that I’d […]

Really, really, really and truly: Boyd Crowder on FX’s ‘Justified’ might be my all-time favorite character of faith (and doubt) on a television show ever. Everything about Boyd–from his charisma, to his misguided preaching, to his encounter with doubt–is so […]

Next week, a new book in the Twilight Saga will be published. And no, don’t get overly excited. It’s not as though Stephenie Meyer has written another installment or finally finished (and published) Midnight Sun or even turned out another […]

Passover is coming up, and this year as you ponder celebrating the Seder meal, perhaps you should consider making it a quick one and use the “30 Minute-Seder: The Haggadah that Blends Brevity with Tradition.” I was flipping through the […]

Friday I was flying home on Jetblue and caught a news segment on a form of yoga called Laughter Yoga. A laughter yoga class “combines traditional yoga breathing with prolonged laughter” and involves “playful exercises…that involve deep, long lasting belly […]

Previous Posts