Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter


Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!



Previous Posts

Blasting Off in an Imperfect World
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HodFzcJHIYI 23 Blast is a touching film about Travis Freeman (Mark Hapka) who was a high school football player for the Corbin High School Redhounds in Kentucky and was stricken with Cavernous Sinus Thrombosis, which  destroyed his optical nerves. But Coach Ferris

posted 9:14:00am Oct. 21, 2014 | read full post »

Author Ted Dekker Wows Us Again With A.D. 30: A Novel
Critics are raving about Ted Dekker's new book A.D. 30: A Novel. Readers will experience the story of Jesus as they never have before. Publisher's Weekly said, "The reigning king of Christian thrillers...kicks down the door of biblical fiction." Booklist said, "This is the kind of book term 'sweepin

posted 3:42:39pm Oct. 20, 2014 | read full post »

#IAMUnbroken Campaign Celebrates Louis Zamperini’s Unbroken Spirit
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZeGuTYHuI4&feature=share[/youtube] Do you have a story of perseverance, triumph or the power of God delivering you from a trial? UNBROKEN, a powerful faith-revitalizing film, chronicles the life of former Olympian, WWII veteran and POW Survivor, Louis Z

posted 9:50:55am Oct. 20, 2014 | read full post »

Jennifer Garner Discusses Film, Dirty Diapers, and Husband’s Secret Talent
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_dideF5qvk   Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day is based on the children’s book of the same title, follows Alexander and his family’s crazy and brutal day. Whether it is baby Trevor eating a dark green highlighter since his p

posted 9:57:51am Oct. 17, 2014 | read full post »

The Rise of ISIS
“It’s past time for American to hear this truth. By minimizing the challenge,” Jay Sekulow (American Center Law Justice) wrote in his September opinion piece on FoxNews.com. The world is facing a serious threat in the Middle East with ISIS, a group of terrorists dedicated to mass executions

posted 10:16:20am Oct. 14, 2014 | read full post »




Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.