Advertisement

Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter

Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

Advertisement

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!

Previous Posts

Watch the Latest VLog from the Set of 'SPECTRE'
Hey Bond junkies, get ready for the latest video from 007’ and, “SPECTRE “set for release in November. The footage will focus on a car chase with the elite Aston Martin DB10 and Jaguar C-X75 in Rome. What makes this action so intriguing? ...

posted 12:26:16pm May. 01, 2015 | read full post »

America's Top Guns Helped Liberate Israel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K78MY3EcBFU They were volunteers from the US risking their lives to help Israel gain their independence in the Arab-Israeli was in 1948.  A group of Jewish American pilots smuggled planes and trained in ...

posted 10:12:33am May. 01, 2015 | read full post »

The Movie ‘Noble’ Is a Powerful Story of Fearlessness and Love
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2DwaFKqKxQ[/youtube] They did everything to break her spirit, but her love conquered all resistance; her courage proved that it only takes one person to make a difference in the lives of many. We're ...

posted 10:00:13am May. 01, 2015 | read full post »

Weight Watchers Founder, Jean Nidetch, Passes Away
Jean Nidetch, the 91-year-old mastermind behind the multi-billion dollar Weight Watchers corporation, passed away early Wednesday morning due to natural causes. Throughout her life, Nidetch struggled with obesity and was no stranger to fad ...

posted 11:12:43am Apr. 29, 2015 | read full post »

Dr. Ted Baehr Ranked Among the Top 50 Christian Leaders in America
Newsmax just released their annual list of the top 100 Christian leaders in America who make a real impact on modern lives. Included in their list is Dr. Ted Baehr, founder and publisher of the family-friendly Movieguide. His position ranks ...

posted 9:53:33am Apr. 24, 2015 | read full post »

Advertisement


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.