Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter


Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!



Previous Posts

Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra Launch Sixth All - New Meditation Experience 'Expanding Your Happiness'
Registration Starts Today Monday, July 14 at Oprah.com/meditation Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra announced the launch of their latest, all-new meditation experience "Expanding Your Happiness," which is open for registration starting today at www.Oprah.com/meditation.  The free 21-day meditation

posted 11:56:20am Jul. 21, 2014 | read full post »

Anchor Stuart Scott Honored at ESPYs for Perseverance
ESPN’s anchor Stuart Scott offers strength to many on air. It’s not only for his smooth delivery or a career that’s spanned over two decades-it’s fighting a deadly form of cancer since 2007. This week Scott, 48, was presented the 2014 Jimmy V Perseverance Award at the ESPYs by actor Kief

posted 10:01:07am Jul. 18, 2014 | read full post »

WORLD WIDE EXCLUSIVE PHOTOS from 'The Good Lie' Starring Reese Witherspoon
“The Good Lie,” a new movie from Warner Brothers, stars Reese Witherspoon as Carrie Davis, a woman who agrees to help a group of Sudanese refugees who win a lottery for relocation in the United States. Film director Philippe Falardeau brings the story of survival to life, displaying the power of

posted 8:42:17am Jul. 15, 2014 | read full post »

Planes: Fires & Rescue - Exclusive Trailer
“Planes: Fire & Rescue” the theatrical sequel to the 2013 animated film “Planes” is a comedy-adventure featuring a quirky crew of elite firefighting aircraft devoted to protecting historic Piston Peak National Park from a raging wildfire. The team learns that with hard work, faith and re

posted 8:30:42am Jul. 14, 2014 | read full post »

Polygamist Wife Escapes Terror of Cult Leader in Memoir, 'The Witness Wore Red'
The Witness Wore Red is a riveting, harrowing tale of Rebecca Musser, who fled a polygamist cult and their leader, Warren Jeffs. Raised in the Fundamentalist Church of the Latter Day Saints (FLDS), a sect of the Mormon Church, Musser shares the sexual and emotional abuse she suffered since childh

posted 5:49:47pm Jul. 11, 2014 | read full post »




Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.