Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter


Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!



Previous Posts

Dr. James Dobson and Son Update Popular Parenting Series
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDrYpZ7mt6g[/youtube] Family Talk Founder, Dr. James Dobson's powerful parenting series from 1978, Focus on the Family challenged millions of parents to look at their marriages and parenting in a whole new way. This year, Dr. Dobson and his son, Ryan are sh

posted 10:20:03am Sep. 23, 2014 | read full post »

'Left Behind' is Fast Approaching
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrXe8YDbzYs[/youtube] Many are getting excited as “Left Behind” is fast approaching theaters based on the best-selling books by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye. The film stars Nicolas Cage, Chad Michael Murray, Jordan Sparks, and Lea Thompson, whose c

posted 4:18:05pm Sep. 17, 2014 | read full post »

Documentary ‘The Boomer List’ Highlights American Achievements
19 American luminaries of the baby boom years (1946-1964) share their personal stories and achievements in the inspiring documentary, The Boomer List. Part of the American Masters series on PBS, The Boomer List invites viewers into the lives of a generation that were present during poignant momen

posted 12:37:10pm Sep. 17, 2014 | read full post »

Tim Tebow Signs On To Inspire With GMA
Doesn't look like Tim Tebow will be returning to the NFL anytime soon. ABC released a press releasing stating that starting Monday, September 15th Tebow will launch the program's "Motivate Me Monday" series. The program will highlight amazing people and their inspirational stories of triumph and ove

posted 8:33:58am Sep. 12, 2014 | read full post »

What Does Oprah Know For Sure?
Oprah Winfrey has become more than just a successful talk-show host, she is a legendary figure that everyone admires. Her heartfelt words of wisdom are felt within every interview and her mission statements are clear no matter what charity she is involved in. The one question that baffled even Opr

posted 10:07:15am Sep. 11, 2014 | read full post »




Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.