Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter


Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

posted by Donna Freitas

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!



Previous Posts

Political Documentary ‘The Green Prince’ Thrills, Offers Hope
Political thriller, "The Green Prince" tells the story Mosab Hassan Yousef, son of a key Hamas leader, who betrays his father and country to work for Israeli security forces. The narrative is framed around his life as a double agent, and loosely based off his memoir, “Son of Hamas: A Gripping A

posted 1:14:44pm Aug. 22, 2014 | read full post »

'Waking in Oak Creek' Documentary Tells Story of Healing in Aftermath of Tragedy
[bcvideo vid='3743815470001' pid='96582452001' height='410' width='480'] The powerful new documentary Waking In Oak Creek profiles a suburban town shaken after six worshippers at a Sikh Temple are killed by a white supremacist in a hate crime shooting. In the year following the attack, a community

posted 12:33:34pm Aug. 22, 2014 | read full post »

Dolphin Tale 2 Star Bethany Hamilton Discusses Faith and DT2 in Exclusive Clip
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLGzdpSYoV8&list=UUPr4g5kEXmDhQIn2jNneh6Q[/youtube] Go behind the scenes of Alcon Entertainment/Warner Bros.’ Dolphin Tale 2, with professional Christian athlete and “Soul Surfer” inspiration Bethany Hamilton, in this exclusive clip. In it, she t

posted 9:37:57am Aug. 21, 2014 | read full post »

Dolphin Tale 2 is a Reminder Never to Give Up
The famous dolphin that won the hearts of the disabled all over the globe returns to offer us insight and encouragement again in “Dolphin Tale 2.” Winter was rescued after she lost her tail in a crab trap. She survived because of a ground-breaking prosthetic tail. Since 2011, the Clearwater Mari

posted 9:36:04am Aug. 21, 2014 | read full post »

Reverend Samuel Rodriguez Endorses THE IDENTICAL
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JYdcjKRNoM [/youtube] National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference President and CEO, Reverend Samuel Rodriguez endorses the new television show, "IDENTITY", and upcoming film THE IDENTICAL.  "There are movies that are entertaining and then there are

posted 5:58:24pm Aug. 18, 2014 | read full post »




Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.