Idol Chatter

Idol Chatter

Mary Gordon’s “The Love of My Youth”

Mary Gordon is one of the great Catholic novelists of our time. In the vein of Walker Percy and Flannery O’Connor, she deftly weaves questions about faith, doubt, sin, and the stuff of the Catholic tradition (priests, mass, saints, among other things) into her stories and more recently, her memoirs. And now she has a new novel out! Sigh. Oh, joy.

Liesl Schillinger at The New York Times Sunday Book Review had this to say about Gordon’s newest novel (her 10th), “The Love of My Youth”:

“More subtly, though, the issues of faith that always infuse Gordon’s writing, to a greater or lesser degree, and that can sometimes weigh it down, are treated with liberating lightness in this novel. . . Emotionally engaging and smoothly flowing, “The Love of My Youth” showcases Gordon’s power to write with controlled urgency, without dissembling or exaggeration, to reveal truths that are hard to face in the unsparing light of day, but without which we could not see ourselves as we are.”

In the LA Times review, Julia M. Klein writes that, “Gordon deftly awakens the strains of regret and desire that we too feel as we watch old loves and old selves recede,” about “The Love of My Youth.”

The New York Times has excerpted a chapter from Gordon’s novel online. You can access it here. Not to be missed!

Previous Posts

Open Letters to Oscar Night Standouts
The following is a guest post from one of our Entertainment contributors, Malayna Dawn. Enjoy! Dear John Travolta: We know you are multi-talented and have played many characters, but lately it seems like you may be having trouble expressing your true self – at least in ways that the public ca

posted 10:46:28am Mar. 04, 2015 | read full post »

We Bid Farewell to Leonard Nimoy
Friday, February 27th Leonard Nimoy, famously known for his role as Spock in the infamous Star Trek series, passed away at the age of 83. His wife, Susan Bay Nimoy, confirmed his death, stating that the cause was the end-stage chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Nimoy publicly announced last

posted 2:25:26pm Feb. 27, 2015 | read full post »

Watch This Exclusive Video Feature from National Geographic's 'Killing Jesus'
[jwvideo vid='2epXRLlI' pid='GvkPWNBE'] National Geographic’s ‘Killing Jesus’ is set to premiere on March 29, Palm Sunday, breathing new life into the story of Jesus’ life and resurrection. Don’t miss your opportunity to watch this must-see video feature, providing an exclusive look into

posted 5:46:42pm Feb. 25, 2015 | read full post »

The Official Trailer and Movie Art for National Geographic's ‘Killing Jesus’ Is Here, And It's Powerful
Here’s a first look at the movie poster art from National Geographic’s ‘Killing Jesus,’ the upcoming film adaptation of the New York Times bestselling book about the life and crucifixion of Jesus. The highly-anticipated film will premiere on National Geographic Sunday, March 29, just one

posted 1:17:01pm Feb. 19, 2015 | read full post »

Get a First Look at A.D. The Bible Continues
This Easter Sunday, April 5th, 2015, join millions of viewers for the premiere of A.D. The Bible Continues and continue on a 12-week journey through what would become the most powerful global movement in history – the rise of the Church. [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-6U-BteVyQ&

posted 4:29:18pm Feb. 18, 2015 | read full post »


Report as Inappropriate

You are reporting this content because it violates the Terms of Service.

All reported content is logged for investigation.