In Islam, there are also a number of religiously mandated dietary restrictions. The Quran expressly forbids both eating pork and drinking wine (a prohibition which Muslims understand extends to drinking any sort of alcoholic beverage). Islamic religious law has sifted further through the Quran and extracted additional guidelines, working out a basic division between types of foods which are classified as either halal (“permitted”) or haram (“forbidden”). Alcohol, pork, blood, improperly slaughtered animals, and a number of other types of food are classed as haram or impermissible.
There are both similarities and differences between kosher and halal lists of foods. For example, both Jews and Muslims are forbidden to eat pork. On the other hand, Jews cannot eat shellfish, but most Muslims can (depending upon the specific sect); by contrast, Muslims cannot drink alcohol, but Jews can (so long as the beverage is kosher; some drinks may contain non-kosher ingredients).
The Church of Buffalo Wild WingsToday church will be at Buffalo Wild Wings. You read that correctly.
10 Strange Places the Face of Jesus AppearedThe appearances of Jesus in everyday objects have been called everything from...
Progress and Hope: The Fight for Religious FreedomWith an alarming, worldwide increase of religious division and violence, what...
Yoga: One Size Doesn’t Fit AllIt seems like the main issue many yoga practitioners have is that “yoga is not...