The Pillars of Islam

Reprinted with permission from

The five pillars of Islam are:

1) Declaration of Faith 2) Prayer 3) The 'Zakat' (Alms Giving) 4) Fasting 5) The Pilgrimage (Hajj)


There is no god worthy of worship except God and Muhammad is His messenger. This declaration of faith is called the Shahada, a simple formula which all the faithful pronounce. In Arabic, the first part is la ilaha illa Llah - 'there is no god except God'; ilaha (god) can refer to anything which we may be tempted to put in place of God - wealth, power, and the like. Then comes illa Llah: 'except God', the source of all Creation. The second part of the Shahada is Muhammadun rasulu'Llah: 'Muhammad is the messenger of God.' A message of guidance has come through a man like ourselves.


Continued on page 2: »

comments powered by Disqus
Related Topics: Faiths